Latest News
prev next

Legacy Through History

Indian Steam Railway Society (ISRS) was formed on October 23rd 1999, when a group of like minded people met and discussed the present position and future possibilities regarding the preservation of Indian Steam Locomotives. Subsequently, a formal non profit society was formed and it has been registered with the Register of Societies, Delhi. the current President of the Society is Mr. R S Virdi, who retired as General Manager of the North East Frontier Railway zone of the Indian Railways. Mark Tully is the Vice-President, Ashwani Lohani the Working President, G Shankar the Secretory and Dileep Prakash the Joint Secretory, P J Singh is the Treasurer and J L Singh the Editor of the Journal of the Society. The other members of the managing committee are Arun Mohan, Bill Aitken and Ravindra Gupta. The objective of the Society is to form a common platform for the India Steam Railway Enthusiasts to exchange views and further their knowledge on the subjects of Indian Steam Railway. The Society will make representations to the Indian Railway Board for more and more tourist special trains hauled by steam locomotives in the near future. read more

Active Steam Locos


A Garratt (also known as Beyer-Garratt) is a steam locomotive which articulates in three parts. Its boiler is mounted on the centre frame, and steam driven cylinders are…


These unique 40 ton 0-3-0 locomotives were manufactured by M/s Orenstien and Koppel of Berlin in 1907 for about £500…


‘Ramgotty’ is named after Ramgotty Mukherjee, who was the last GM of the Nalhati-Azimgunj Light Railway in West Bengal, was…

The Fairy Queen

The fairy Queen holds the unique distinction of being the oldest steam locomotive in the world in working condition.  This…

Steam Loco

Online Payment
Designed & Developed by  Heena Jain